M5-GL-1000 GL Account Merge Utility

From BlythecoDev Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Synopsis

This utility allows multiple general ledger accounts for Sage 500 to merge into a single destination account. Any general ledger accounts that are merged will also have the budgets for those accounts merged.

Installation and Set Up

Installation

Prior to running this application, you will need to have Sage 500 installed. (Various versions of Sage 500 are, or can be, made compatible. For more information please call (800) 425-9843). It is recommended to have a complete and tested backup prior to installing any application on your Sage 500 platform.

Reinstalling or Installing an Update

You must first uninstall any custom (non-Sage) client/server installs via “Add and Remove Programs”. This will not uninstall any database objects, but will permit the update install to run its SQL package to update the necessary database objects. Once the previous install has been removed, you may then run the new client and server installs.

Components to the Installation

Server Installation

This adds the database stored procedures and tables required to run the integration. Run the Install Shield on the Sage 500 database server.

Client Installation

This is used to install the client components of Sage 500. Run the Install Shield Application on each appropriate workstation that the enhancement will run.

Task Set Up

The task “GL Merge Utility - Blytheco” must be added to the MAS500 task menu.

1) Select your MAS500 desktop, go to the General Ledger > Activities folder
2) Right click on the folder and select “Create New Task.”
3) When the context menu appears, select MAS 500 Task.
4) For Module select General Ledger
5) Select the task named “GL Merge Utility - Blytheco” then select OK.
6) A “GL Merge Utility - Blytheco” task will appear in the MAS500 task menu.


GL Merge Task
GL Merge Utility Task Setup


Definitions

The following are the descriptions and terminology for the Merge General Ledger Accounts Utility:

  • Merge Account – The account that all other accounts will be merged into. This account must already be in existence.
  • Accounts to be merged – The account or accounts to be merged into the merge account. The detail transactions and budgets of the merged accounts will be transferred to the merge account.
  • GL recalculate history – This is another Sage 500 GL Utility that should be run after the Merge GL Accounts Utility is run. This will re-calculate the balances for all GL accounts.


Process Description

Plan before the Merge

The merge process should begin with planning. Once an account is merged with another account, it may not be undone. The following steps should be followed:

1) The accounts to be merged should always be considered. The merged accounts cannot be undone.
2) The process of running the utility should be run when all users are out of the system. It is typically best run outside of normal business hours.
3) A full backup of the Sage 500 database must be done before the GL Account Merge Utility is run.
4) The results will need to be verified after the GL Account Merge Utility and GL Recalculate History Utilities are run.


Running the GL Account Merge Utility

Go to General Ledger > Maintenance > Maintain GL Accounts Menu and select the GL Account Merge Utility task. The screen displayed here will appear.

GL Account Merge Utility
GL Account Merge Utility


Select the Merge Account Number lookup. You may then use the filters to select the accounts to be merged by the following criteria:

  • Main account number
  • Any of the other segments defined in the general ledger setup

Click the Select button and the account numbers will be populated based on the selected filter options.

Selecting Accounts to be Merged
GL Account Merge Utility


If you want to delete an account from the accounts to be merged list, select a line, then right click on it and select Delete.

Deleting a Line From The Selected Accounts


Select the Clear All button to clear the accounts to be merged list.

Warning: Make sure that the account(s) you want to merge are the only accounts listed in the “Accounts To Be Merged” grid. (See prior example).

When you are ready to merge the accounts, select the proceed icon. You will be prompted with this warning message:

Accounts To Be Merged Warning Message


Select OK to proceed and then you will be prompted with the next message:

Proceed Warning Message


You must be certain that you want to merge the accounts. Understand that selecting Yes cannot be undone. If you are certain, select Yes. If you are not certain, select No. When the accounts are successfully merged, you will receive this message:

Confirmation Message


Repeat the process as necessary. When complete, run the GL Recalculate History Utility for all years. Then print general ledger reports as necessary to agree the merged account transactions and balances transferred properly. Make manual adjustments to the following areas as necessary:

• General ledger retained earnings accounts in general ledger setup options
• FRx financial reports
• Advanced Allocations


NOTE: After running through the GL Merge process, the merged General Ledger account numbers will still exist on your system, but their status will be updated from “Active” to “Deleted.” Although account numbers with a deleted status can no longer be used, some reports such as Chart of Accounts, Budget & History, and Trial Balance will continue to show data for these account numbers.

Option (Alternative) to GL Account Merge Utility

This option adds functionality that allows the user to merge GL accounts using a batched staging table to enter all of the General Ledger account numbers by Company to be merged.

Staging Table: stgBatchGLMerge (See Figure 1a below)

The batch staging table contains four columns:

  • Target Account
  • To Be Merged Account
  • Company
  • Process Status (see description below)


The process status is initially entered as a “0” (zero) in the staging data prior to running the Batch Merge GL process. At completion of the process, all successful rows of the table (GL accounts) that were merged are changed to a status of “1” and then immediately removed from the table. Any rows that were unsuccessful in the merge process, (were not merged), will have the process status updated to a “2”; (a merge error for that row).


The stgBatchGLMerge table has been set to pre-validate GL accounts based upon the defined Company. The user should not be allowed to insert a row with an invalid or deleted GL Account number for that company. An error will be displayed.

GL-1000 Staging Table
Figure 1a


Using Batch Merge GL Accounts

After entering all of the necessary rows in the staging table above, click on the GL Merge Utility – Blytheco task (General Ledger, Activities menu) to activate it. A pop-up message will be displayed indicating that records added to the stgBatchGLMerge table have been acknowledged and only the batch GL merge process is available. (See Figure 2a Records Exist pop-up message below).

GL-1000 Batch Merge Process - Records Exist
Figure 2a


The Merge Accounts screen will appear (as seen in Figure 3a below). When the staging table has data in it to be merged, the Merge Accounts screen will have an added button “Batch Merge” activated on it. If the table does not have data in it, the button will be non-functional (grayed out) and function as a manually entered GL account merge screen.

GL-1000 Batch Merge Screen
Figure 3a


Selecting the “Batch Merge” button will initiate the GL merge process.

Be sure to read the warnings in the “Plan Before the Merge” section above. Once a merge has been completed, it cannot be undone.

When the Batch Merge process is complete, the user will get a message as follows:

GL-1000 Merge Complete


If there were any errors in the staging table, the following error message will appear.

GL-1000 Accounts Failed to Merge


After merging, the user should run the GL Recalculate History Utility for all years. Then print general ledger reports as necessary to agree the merged account transactions and balances transferred properly. Make manual adjustments to the following areas as necessary:

  • General ledger retained earnings accounts in general ledger setup options
  • FRx financial reports
  • Advanced Allocations


Personal tools
MediaWiki Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux