M5-AR-1000 Customer Merge Utility

From BlythecoDev Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search


Contents

Synopsis

This utility allows single or multiple Customer records to be merged into a single destination Customer account.


Definitions

The following are the descriptions and terminology for the Customer Merge Utility:

  • Merge Customer – The destination Customer account that selected Customers will be merged into.
  • Customers to be merged – The Customer account(s) to be merged into the Merge Customer. The detail transactions of the merged Customers will be transferred to the Merge Customer.
  • AR recalculate history – This is another Sage 500 AR Utility that should be run after the Customer Merge Utility is run. This will recalculate AR History for all accounts.


Installation and Setup

Prior to running this application, you will need to have Sage 500 installed. (Various versions of Sage 500 are, or can be, made compatible. For more information please call (800) 425-9843). It is recommended to have a complete and tested backup prior to installing any application on your Sage 500 platform.

Reinstalling or Installing an Update

You must first uninstall any custom (non-Sage) client/server installs via “Add and Remove Programs”. This will not uninstall any database objects, but will permit the update install to run its SQL package to update the necessary database objects. Once the previous install has been removed, you may then run the new client and server installs.

Components to the Installation

Server Installation

This adds the database stored procedures and tables required to run the integration. Run the Install Shield on the Sage 500 database server.

Client Installation

This is used to install the client components of Sage 500. Run the Install Shield Application on each appropriate workstation that the enhancement will run.

Task Setup for Merge: Expand the menus Accounts Receivable/Activities and right click on the sub menu where you want the Task displayed. Click on “Create New Task/Sage 500 Task”. Select the Accounts Receivable module and then the AR Customer Merge task. Click OK to accept the task.

Task Set Up


Process Description

Plan before the Merge:

The merge process should begin with planning. Once an account is merged with another account, it may not be undone. The following steps should be adhered to:

  • The Customers to be merged should always be considered. The merged records cannot be undone.
  • The process of running the utility should be run when all users are out of the system. It is typically best to run the utility outside of normal business hours.
  • A full backup of the Sage 500 database must be done before the Customer Merge Utility is run.
  • The results will need to be verified after the Customer Merge Utility and AR Recalculate History are run.
  • Important Note: If Customers to be merged have open sales orders, the Ship To Address on the open sales orders will not be changed as a result of the merge. (The “Sold to Customer”, invoicing, etc. will all be changed to the Merge Customer).


Running the Customer Merge Utility:

The Customer Merge Utility is located under the Accounts Receivable/Activities menu. Select the Customer Merge BC Icon and the Merge Customers BC form appears.

Merge Customers Form


Select the Merge Customer Number. You may then use the filters to select the Customer records to be merged. Click the "Select" button and the accounts will populate based on the filter selections. You may select a line to be merged and right click to delete that line.

Selecting a Line to Delete


Select the "printer icon" on the toolbar of the Merge Customer screen to print a Merge Customer and accounts to be merged list.

Print Out of Selected Merge Customers


The list may be cleared or edited as necessary. When you are ready to merge the accounts, select the Proceed icon. You will be prompted with the following message:

Merge Proceed Message


You must be certain that you want to merge the Customers. Understand that selecting “Yes” cannot be undone. If you are certain, select YES; if you are not, select NO. When the Customers are successfully merged, you will receive the following message:

Confirmation Message


You can repeat the process as necessary. When complete, run the AR Recalculate History Utility for all years. After the recalculation of history has been completed, run the Age Customer Accounts, and then print the Customer History reports as necessary in order to verify that the merged Customer records transferred properly.

Note: Customer payments from the source customer, which have the same check number or payment reference as checks or references in the target customer, will be serialized. This allows duplicate documents to exist in the target company. If the check or payment reference was “100” in the source customer it will become “100A” in the target customer. After the merge, the target customer will have two payments “100” and “100A”. Already existing applications of the source customer’s payments may display as the non-serialized number on some reports.

Table Affected By Merge

The following tables are updated after the Customer Merge is completed:

Tables Updated After Customer Merge


The following tables are updated to change the old customer key value to the new customer key value.

Customer Key Values Changed


Personal tools
MediaWiki Appliance - Powered by TurnKey Linux